Is Lays Mesquite BBQ Chips Gluten Free?

Lays Kettle Cooked Mesquite BBQ is well-known and doesn’t contain any artificial flavor, which is suitable for those allergic to artificial flavors. However, those who have an allergy to gluten are still wondering if they can include it in a gluten-free diet.

In this article, I will help you to determine whether you can have these as you want these chips or if you need to avoid them by checking all ingredient lists to see if there’s a gluten-containing component. Let’s five in!

About Lays Mesquite BBQ Chips & Its Ingredients

Lays Kettle Mesquite BBQ is a crunchy potato crafted with care and Cooked in flavored Mesquite BBQ. This smoky and smooth Chip is made using the following ingredients:

Potatoes, Vegetable Oil, Mesquite BBQ Seasoning (Sugar, Dextrose, Salt, Spices, Tomato Powder, Onion Powder, Maltodextrin, Natural Flavor, Lactose, Yeast Extract, Torula Yeast, Gum Arabic, Garlic Powder, Corn Starch, Extractives of Paprika, Malted Barley Flour, Sunflower Oil, Skim Milk, Buttermilk, and Citric Acid). 

Is Gluten Free?

Unfortunately, Lays Mesquite BBQ Chip is not gluten-free. It contains Malted Barley Flour, a gluten ingredient that triggers celiac or gluten sensitivity.

So, it would help to exclude this chip snack from your gluten-free diet because it is unsafe.

Is It Low FodMap?

No, it is a high fodmap and contains many ingredients that are not considered safe for a low fodmap diet, including Onion & Milk.

Final Thought

Indeed, Lays Mesquite BBQ contains gluten, and high fodmap, which is unsuitable for those following a low fodmap or gluten-free diet.

Related Post

Read More

DISCLAIMER: SoundVegan, Inc. disclaims all liability and does not advocate the use or abuse of any goods, products, or medications. Although we make every effort to ensure the authenticity of our material, we cannot make any promises. We work hard to give you useful information so you may choose the best course of action for your lifestyle and health.