Is Meiji Chocolate Halal? Uncovering Permissible Options: Black, Almond, Milk, or Apollo Strawberry Flavors

Japanese confectioneries is one of the most prominent companies manufacturing sweets and chocolateMeiji Chocolate is the best example. That’s why many wonder if they can include it in their diets.

Today I will answer some questions, especially those asked by Muslims and related to Halal status. So, let’s take a closer look at the ingredients & flavors.

About Meijji Chocolate & Its Flavors and Ingredients

Meiji Chocolate is a brand of chocolate produced by Meiji Japanese company that specializes in confectionery and dairy products.

Meiji chocolate is known for its high-quality ingredients and unusual flavors, which is why it is popular in Japan and worldwide. It has different varieties, including Milk, Black, Almond, and Apollo Chocolate.

The Commonly used ingredients are:

  • Milk (Powder, Skimmed, & Lactose)
  • Sugar
  • Cacao (Butter & Mass)
  • Oils
  • Soy Lecithin
  • Artificial Flavor
  • Coloring

Those are base ingredients, but some varieties have other questionable components that may be extracted from a haram source. So, let’s discover them.

Meiji Chocolate Halal or Haram?

The answer is Yes & NO. Meiji offers some Halal flavors, including Meiji Chocolate Black, Milk, and Apollo Strawberry, which are made without haram or doubtable ingredients, making them Permissible for Muslims. But the Meijji Chocolate Almond flavor is unsuitable for Muslims because it contains alcohol & Schellac.

This small table for Recap

FlavorIs It HalalIngredient
ApolloNOShellac + Alcohol

Final Thought

Indeed, The only Meiji Chocolate flavor that is unsuitable for Muslims is Chocolate Almond.


  1. Meiji Chocolate Dark Halal?

    Yes, Meiji Choco Dark is Halal

  2. Meiji Chocolate Almond Halal?

    Unfortunately, Meiji Choco Almond is not halal.

  3. Meiji Chocolate Milk Halal?

    Yes, Meiji Choco Miilk is Halal

  4. Meiji Chocolate Apollo Halal?

    Yes, Meiji Choco Apollo is Halal

Important Note!!!!!!

I want to clarify that I am not in a position to alter any laws prescribed by God. My opinions and interpretations are solely personal and have no authoritative value. Therefore, I do not intend to pass any judgment on whether a particular product is halal or haram. Please consider reading multiple sources and gathering information before making any decisions. Lastly, I urge you not to rely solely on my answers and take them lightly.

Related Posts

Read More

DISCLAIMER: SoundVegan, Inc. disclaims all liability and does not advocate the use or abuse of any goods, products, or medications. Although we make every effort to ensure the authenticity of our material, we cannot make any promises. We work hard to give you useful information so you may choose the best course of action for your lifestyle and health.