Are Maoams Vegan? Fully Explained!

Are Maoams Vegan? I get this question quite often and is normal since the Maoams sort of sweets are produced by the German confectionery company Haribo and they have vast fans of sweets lovers. 

The huge popularity of Maoams made a lot of vegans wonders if they can consume this product that is made up of chewy fruit-flavored candy in a variety of flavors.

So, in this article, I will be in charge to answer if Maoams is a great option for vegans or not, I will answer Also in detail other related questions such as Is It Vegetarian, Gluten-free & Halal status? So, stay with me to know more about sweety Maoams candies!

Maoams Ingredients

First Let’s list the option that Maoams have, without further ado here are Maoams varieties:

  • BLOXX
  • JOYSTIXX
  • STRIPES
  • PINBALLS
  • MAOAM PINBALLS HALLOWEEN

Before answering Is Maoam Vegan? Let’s get a clear idea and see what Maoam’s ingredients are.

FlavorIngredients
MAOAM STRIPESSugar; Glucose Syrup; Palm Fat; Humectant: Sorbitol Syrup; Acid: Citric Acid; Gelatin; Flavoring; Fruit and Plant Concentrates: Safflower, Lemon, Spirulina, Radish, Blackcurrant, Carrot, Apple; Caramelized Sugar Syrup; Liquor Ice Extract; Anti-Caking Agent: Talc; Glazing Agent: Beeswax; Treacle; Invert Sugar Syrup.
MAOAM PINBALLSSugar; Glucose Syrup; Palm Fat; Humectant: Sorbitol Syrup; Acid: Citric Acid; Gelatin; Fruit and Plant Concentrates: Safflower, Radish, Carrot, Apple, Lemon, Spirulina, Blackcurrant; Flavoring; Caramelized Sugar Syrup; Liquor Ice Extract; Anti-Caking Agent: Talc; Glazing Agent: White and Yellow Beeswax; Treacle; Invert Sugar Syrup
MAOAM JOYSTIXXSugar; Glucose Syrup; Palm Fat; Humectant: Sorbitol Syrup; Acid: Citric Acid; Gelatin; Flavoring; Fruit and Plant Concentrates: Safflower, Lemon, Spirulina, Radish, Blackcurrant, Carrot, Apple; Caramelized Sugar Syrup; Liquor Ice Extract; Anti-Caking Agent: Talc; Glazing Agent: Beeswax; Treacle; Invert Sugar Syrup.
MAOAM BLOXXSugar; Glucose Syrup; Palm Fat; Humectant: Sorbitol Syrup; Gelatin; Acid: Citric Acid; Flavoring
MAOAM PINBALLS HALLOWEENSugar; Glucose Syrup; Palm Fat; Humectant: Sorbitol Syrup; Acid: Citric Acid; Gelatin; Fruit and Plant Concentrates: Sweet Potato, Safflower, Lemon, Spirulina, Radish, Blackcurrant; Apple; Flavoring; Anti-Caking Agent: Talc; Glazing Agent: White and Yellow Beeswax; Color: Vegetable Carbon.
Table of Maoams All Flavors Ingredients

Are Maoams Vegan? Explained

Are Maoams Vegan? The answer is NO, All Maoams Flavors are not vegan since they contain Strictly derived animal ingredients which are Gelatin And/or Beeswax. This makes them unsuitable for vegans.

Maoams Also Contain other questionable ingredients such as Sugar, Coloring & Palm Fat, as explained in many articles before there are grey area ingredients since they can be sourced from animals or plants. But the common is extracted from plants.

Find below a table that will fit your needs If you need a Quick answer to Maoams is it vegan?

Maoams Varieties & FlavorsIs It Vegan?Non-vegan Ingredient
MAOAM STRIPESNOGelatin & Beeswax
MAOAM PINBALLSNOGelatin & Beeswax
MAOAM JOYSTIXXNOGelatin & Beeswax
MAOAM BLOXXNOGelatin
MAOAM PINBALLS HALLOWEENNOGelatin & Beeswax
Table of Maoams Vegan Status

Are Maoams Halal?

The answer without further ado is NO, Maoams are Haram since they have Gelatin & Beeswax components.

So, as a Muslim, you need to avoid all Maoams flavors as listed Below. Here’s a quick table to master Maoams vegan Status.

Maoams Varieties & FlavorsIs It Halal?Non-Halal Ingredient
MAOAM STRIPESNOGelatin
MAOAM PINBALLSNOGelatin
MAOAM JOYSTIXXNOGelatin
MAOAM BLOXXNOGelatin
MAOAM PINBALLS HALLOWEENNOGelatin
Table of Maoams Halal Status

Are Maoams Gluten Free?

Fortunately, All Flavors of Maoams don’t Contain strict gluten ingredients. but there is no official information or confirmation that said is totally gluten-free or not. But all listed ingredients are gluten-free.  

So, we can consider Maoams Gluten free since they don’t contain any wheat or its derivative which means that can serve people allergic to gluten.

Indeed, All Maoams flavors are suitable for people that are following a Gluten-free diet.

Here’s another quick table that explains whether Maoams are Gluten-free or not.

Maoams Varieties & FlavorsIs It Gluten-free?Non-Halal Ingredient
MAOAM STRIPESYES
MAOAM PINBALLSYES
MAOAM JOYSTIXXYES
MAOAM BLOXXYES
MAOAM PINBALLS HALLOWEENYES
Table of Maoams Gluten-Free Status

Are Maoams Vegetarian?

The answer is Maoams 100% NO, Maoams are not vegetarian since containing a derived animal by-product which is Gelatin. This makes Maoams unsuitable for a vegetarian diet.

Here’s another quick table explaining whether Maoams are vegetarians or not

Maoams Varieties & FlavorsIs It vegetarian?Non-vegetarian Ingredient
MAOAM STRIPESNOGelatin
MAOAM PINBALLSNOGelatin
MAOAM JOYSTIXXNOGelatin
MAOAM BLOXXNOGelatin
MAOAM PINBALLS HALLOWEENNOGelatin
Table of Maoams vegetarians Status

Source


Related Posts


DISCLAIMER: SoundVegan, Inc. disclaims all liability and does not advocate the use or abuse of any goods, products, or medications. Although we make every effort to assure the authenticity of our material, we cannot make any promises. We work hard to give you helpful information so you may choose the best course of action for your lifestyle and health.