Ortega serves authentic Mexican cuisine inspired by Mama Ortega’s passion for cooking. Today, Ortega manufactures America’s best-selling taco sauce and delicious taco shells, tortillas, salsas, seasonings, dinner kits, refried beans, and jalapeño and Chile peppers. Is Ortega Taco Sauce vegan? Is Ortega Taco Sauce Vegetarian?
You are probably wondering if your favorite taco sauce is vegan. In this article, I will discuss whether Ortega Taco Sauce is vegan, such as Ortega Original, Enchilada sauce, Street sauce, and Flavor Craver sauce.
About Ortega Taco Sauce & Its Ingredients?
The general ingredients for the making of the original sauce are:
Tomato puree (water, Tomato Paste), corn syrup, distilled vinegar, salt, modified corn starch, spices, paprika, citric acid, green chili powder, sodium benzoate (to preserve Freshness), xanthan Gum, Onion Powder.
Other ingredients used in different flavors consist of:
Polysorbate 60, canola oil, lactic acid, titanium dioxide, propylene glycol alginate, buttermilk, brown sugar, cumin, honey, and garlic.
Is Ortega Taco Sauce Vegan?
Yes and no. Some Ortega Taco Sauce flavors are vegan-friendly and gluten-free, such as
- Original Medium
- Original Hot
- Thick Smooth Original Mild
- Mild Green
- Sriracha Hot & Tangy
- All the Ortega Street flavors.
So, vegans can consume the flavors mentioned above. However, the three Flavor Craver flavors are not vegan, including: Jalapeno Lime, Chipotle, and Taco Ranch since they contain animal by-products, specifically dairy, sugar, and honey.
Is Ortega Taco Sauce Halal?
Yes, the Original flavor sauces are halal since they do not contain any animal ingredients and can be considered halal.
Is Ortega Taco Sauce Gluten-Free?
Yes, Ortega Taco sauce is gluten-free. Although it doesn’t state anywhere on the bottle that it is gluten-free, it does not contain any ingredients that have gluten.
Some Ortega Taco Sauce flavors are vegan and gluten-free, while others are not due to containing animal by-products. The Original flavor sauces are halal and all Ortega Taco Sauce flavors are gluten-free, even though it’s not labeled on the bottle.
DISCLAIMER: SoundVegan, Inc. disclaims all liability and does not advocate the use or abuse of any goods, products, or medications. Although we make every effort to ensure the authenticity of our material, we cannot make any promises. We work hard to give you useful information so you may choose the best course of action for your lifestyle and health.