Is Meringue Powder Vegan, Gluten Free, and Dairy Free?

Meringue powder is a popular ingredient used in many baked goods as a stabilizing and stiffening agent. But is it vegan, gluten-free, and dairy-free? Let’s go deeper and check the ingredients list.

About Meringue Powder & Its Ingredients

Meringue powder is a dried egg white product that can be used instead of fresh egg whites in some recipes (the shelf life of meringue powder is about two years). It is typically made from dried egg whites, sugar, cornstarch, food-grade preservatives, stabilizers, and flavoring agents.

The powder is helpful because it has a long shelf life and can be kept at room temperature. It is commonly used to make royal icing, a complex, glossy icing used to decorate cakes and cookies. It can also be used in recipes for meringues, marshmallows, and other baked goods instead of fresh egg whites.

Is Meringue Powder Vegan?

The answer, without further ado, is NO. Most meringue powders are made based on egg whites. Most vegans consider this component an animal product since it is made from eggs made by poultry.

As is known, all products derived from animals are not vegan. So, all vegans should avoid meringue Powder.

There are some vegan alternatives to Meringue Powder. These include Aquafaba, Applesauce, Soy protein isolate, and Dried chickpea protein isolate

Is Meringue Powder Gluten Free?

The answer is YES. Most meringue powder brands are gluten-free. They commonly use the same ingredients, free from any gluten-containing components. But some brands may use gluten ingredients or the same facility the handle gluten components, 

Ensure if you have a high or moderate gluten sensitivity, check the label ingredients & the allergen information. To be on the safe side by avoiding any doubtable brands.

Is Meringue Powder Dairy Free?

Fortunately, Meringue powder is generally dairy-free. It is made based on a mixture containing no milk and its derivatives. The white egg is the only derived animal ingredient that this powder contains.

Final Thought

Meringue Powder is a good option for those who follow a gluten-free or dairy-free diet. But it is not an option for vegans.

Related Posts

Read More

DISCLAIMER: SoundVegan, Inc. disclaims all liability and does not advocate the use or abuse of any goods, products, or medications. Although we make every effort to ensure the authenticity of our material, we cannot make any promises. We work hard to give you useful information so you may choose the best course of action for your lifestyle and health.