Is Feta Cheese Dairy Free & Vegetarian?

For individuals unfamiliar with products made using animal by-products, especially meat, and its derivatives, it is important to determine if the cheese you are adding to your dishes is free from meat, including Feta cheese Brand.

In this article, we will explore whether Feta cheese is suitable for those who follow a vegetarian and dairy-free diet. Let’s Dive In!

About Feta Cheese and Its Ingredients

Feta cheese is a salty and tangy cheese that is traditionally made from sheep’s milk or a blend of sheep’s and goat’s milk. It is a popular ingredient in Mediterranean cuisine, often used in salads, sandwiches, and as a topping for various dishes. In addition, it is a great source of protein and calcium, while also being low in calories.

This type of cheese is typically made using the following ingredients: sheep’s milk and/or goat’s milk, rennet, salt, and culture (bacteria).

Is Feta Cheese Dairy Free?

Based on the previously mentioned information, Feta cheese is made from the milk of sheep and goats, a dairy product. It often contains a considerable amount of lactose, making it an unsafe option for those with milk sensitivity or lactose intolerance.

Is Feta Cheese Vegetarian?

The answer is NO. Feta cheese is unsuitable for those following a vegetarian or vegan diet as it contains a derived animal by-product known as rennet. Rennet is often made from the kidneys, calves, or lambs of Mammals, which means that Feta cheese is not an option for vegetarian dishes.

It is worth noting that brands that make Feta cheese using microbial rennet are considered vegetarian-friendly. Some examples of such brands include:

  • Mt. Vikos Feta Cheese
  • President Feta Cheese
  • Valbreso Feta Cheese
  • Organic Valley Feta Cheese
  • VioLife Feta Cheese

Final Thought

Feta cheese is made from the milk of sheep and goats. However, it is unsuitable for those following a vegetarian diet as it contains rennet, an animal-derived by-product. Additionally, it is unsuitable for individuals with milk sensitivity or lactose intolerance.

Related Posts

DISCLAIMER: SoundVegan, Inc. disclaims all liability and does not advocate the use or abuse of any goods, products, or medications. Although we make every effort to ensure the authenticity of our material, we cannot make any promises. We work hard to give you useful information so you may choose the best course of action for your lifestyle and health.