Is Anti Caking Agent 460 Gluten Free?

Anti caking agents are additives used in powdered or granular commodities such as table salt or confectioneries to avoid lump formation and to improve packing, transport, flowability, and consumption. Caking mechanisms vary depending on the material. Crystalline solids are usually caked due to the development of liquid bridges and the subsequent fusion of microcrystals. Amorphous materials can be caked due to glass transitions and variations in viscosity. Polymorphic phase transitions can also produce caking.

The most common anti-caking agents are:

  • Calcium and magnesium separate.
  • Silica and different silicates.
  • Talc.
  • Wheat and starch.

Ferrocyanides are employed in the production of table salt. But one of the most used anti-caking agents is Microcrystalline cellulose, which is also called Anti Caking Agent 460 “460 (i) – Microcrystalline cellulose (Cellulose gel); 460 (ii)“ is also a form of biofilms that helps prevent products from caking and sticking together.

Is Anti Caking Agent 460 Gluten Free? Here’s The Answer

The answer is YES. Anti-caking Agent 460 (Microcrystalline Cellulose E460) is 100% gluten-free since it is extracted from refined wood pulp, a gluten-free fibrous lignocellulosic substance made by chemically or mechanically removing cellulose fibers from wood.

Final Thought

So, Anti Caking Agent 460 is suitable for those with an intensity of gluten since it is free from wheat, rye, or barley.


Related Posts


Disclaimer: SoundVegan, Inc. disclaims all liability and does not advocate the use or abuse of any goods, products, or medications. Although we make every effort to guarantee the authenticity of our material, we cannot make any promises. We work hard to give you helpful information so you may choose the best course of action for your lifestyle and health.