Does Gummy Bears Have Pork and Gelatin?

Regardless of your diet type, you may wonder if your favorite candy contains pork and gelatin. However, those who follow strict dietary or lifestyle choices, including some religions such as Islam and Judaism, as well as vegans and vegetarians, are particularly concerned.

Vegans and vegetarians avoid animal-derived products, including gelatin, pork, and collagen. In contrast, Muslims and Jews can consume meat from specific sources.

In this article, I will help you determine whether gummy bears contain these animal by-products. So let’s dive in!

About Gummy Bears and Their Ingredients

Gummy bears are small, fruit-gum candies, similar to jelly babies. Most candy brand is roughly 2 cm long and shaped like a bear. 

The gummy bear is one of many gummies, popular Gelatin-Based. The commonly used ingredients are:

Sweeteners (Sugar, Glucose & Corn Syrup, Dextrose), Gelatin, Artificial and Natural Flavors, Carnauba Wax, Beeswax, and Coloring, are all heated and then poured into small bear-shaped molds.

Does Gummy Bears Have Pork & Gelatin?

Unfortunately, most gummy bears are made with Gelatin sourced from the cartilage, bones, or skin of pigs, which makes them unsuitable for kosher, halal, vegan, and vegetarian diets. 

Here’s a list of gummy bears made with pork gelatin

  • Black Forest Organics
  • Haribos Gold Bears
  • YumEarth Naturals
  • Albanese 12 Flavor Gummi Bears
  • Trolli Classic Bears

But you can find some brands that are designed to meet the requirements of a special diet and are free from any animal-derived ingredients, including:

  • Surf Sweets Organic Fruity Bears
  • Project 7 Low Sugar
  • The Organic Candy Factory Mixed Berry Gummy Cubs
  • Tommy’s Bears

Final Thought

Most gummy bears are not suitable for kosher, halal, vegan, and vegetarian diets due to the use of Gelatin sourced from pigs. However, some brands, such as Surf Sweets, Project 7, The Organic Candy Factory, and Tommy’s, are designed to meet the needs of individuals with specific dietary requirements.

Related Posts

DISCLAIMER: SoundVegan, Inc. disclaims all liability and does not advocate the use or abuse of any goods, products, or medications. Although we make every effort to ensure the authenticity of our material, we cannot make any promises. We work hard to give you helpful information so you may choose the best course of action for your lifestyle and health.