Do Nerds Have Gelatin or Pork?

Gelatin is a common ingredient in many snacks, especially candy. Many fans of Nerds candy wonder whether these small, crunchy candies contain Gelatin or Pork.

In this blog post, we’ll take a closer look at the ingredients used in Nerds candy and answer whether they contain these by-products.

About Nerds and Their Ingredients

Nerds are an American candy owned by the Ferrara Candy Company. They are irregularly shaped candies, with each variety filled with fruity flavors such as strawberry, grape, watermelon, cherry, and many others.

The majority of flavors are made using some common ingredients, which are:

Some varieties of flavors may contain Gelatin. In the next section, I will uncover all of them.

Do Nerds Have Gelatin or Pork?

The answer is both yes and no. Some Nerds candies contain gelatin, which is derived from the collagen of pigs. Therefore, if you are trying to avoid pork products, the following table shows the unsuitable flavors.

Gummy Clusters Verry BerryPigs Gelatin
Gummy ClustersPigs Gelatin
Rope RainbowPigs Gelatin
Rope Very berryPigs Gelatin
Rope TropicalPigs Gelatin

In addition to gelatin, Nerds candy contains another ingredient derived from insects called carmine. It’s worth mentioning this because certain diets, such as Halal, Vegan, and Vegetarian, do not allow the consumption of such ingredients.

Nerds Grape & StrawberryCarmine
Nerds RainbowCarmine

The rest of the flavors are free from any derived animal ingredients.

Final Thought

Indeed, Gummy Clusters, Rainbow, Very Berry, and Tropical contain Gelatin derived from Pigs.

Related Posts

DISCLAIMER: SoundVegan, Inc. disclaims all liability and does not advocate the use or abuse of any goods, products, or medications. Although we make every effort to ensure the authenticity of our material, we cannot make any promises. We work hard to give you helpful information so you may choose the best course of action for your lifestyle and health.