Are Milk Duds Halal or Haram?

Muslims also have the right to enjoy their favorite candies, and for those addicted to Milk Duds, the question often arises, “Are Milk Duds Halal or Haram?” This is because Milk Duds are one of the popular brands of chocolate-coated candies produced by The Hershey Company.

This article will serve as a guide to help identify whether Milk Duds are considered Halal or not. Let’s find out.

Are Milk Duds Halal?

Unfortunately, Milk Duds are not considered Halal as they contain various animal-derived ingredients that are sourced from animals that are not allowed to be consumed on a Halal diet. These ingredients include “mono and diglycerides,” which can be sourced from animal fats, including pig fats.

Additionally, Milk Duds contain an alcoholic ingredient called “resinous glaze,” which is a mixture of different kinds of food-grade shellac dissolved in alcohol.

According to Healthline, mono- and diglycerides that are derived from animal fats, such as pork or beef, may also be something that individuals with religious dietary restrictions, such as Muslims following a Halal diet, should avoid.

Final Thought

As a Muslim, it is recommended that you avoid Milk Duds, as they are not suitable for consumption on a Halal diet. This is because they contain an alcoholic ingredient called “resinous glaze,” and mono- and diglycerides, which may be sourced from beef or pork.


Related Posts

DISCLAIMER: SoundVegan, Inc. disclaims all liability and does not advocate the use or abuse of any goods, products, or medications. Although we make every effort to ensure the authenticity of our material, we cannot make any promises. We work hard to give you helpful information so you may choose the best course of action for your lifestyle and health.