Are Doritos Dinamita Halal or Haram?

Many discussions surround Doritos, particularly Dinamita, which are Chile Limon flavored rolled tortilla chips. It’s been claimed that these chips contain hidden ingredients derived from pork or pigs. It is true that this flavor contains some questionable ingredients that the brand doesn’t disclose, including enzymes.

Additionally, Doritos Dinamita also contains ingredients that are considered forbidden by the majority of Muslims. However, before I provide an answer, here is the full list of ingredients:

Corn, Vegetable Oil (Corn, Sunflower, and/or Canola Oil), and 2% or less of the following: Maltodextrin (Made From Corn), Salt, Citric Acid, Sugar, Monosodium Glutamate, Artificial Color (Red 40 Lake, Yellow 6 Lake), Hydrolyzed Corn Gluten, Yeast Extract, Sodium Diacetate, Cheddar Cheese (Milk, Cheese Cultures, Salt, Enzymes), Modified Corn Starch, Natural Flavor (Including Natural Extractives of Lime and Natural Extractives of Red Pepper), Onion Powder, Whey, Corn Syrup Solids, Garlic Powder, Romano Cheese (Part-Skim Cow’s Milk, Cheese Cultures, Salt, Enzymes), Buttermilk, Whey Protein Concentrate, Disodium Inosinate, and Disodium Guanylate.

So, does Doritos Dinamita Contain Pigs Derivatives?

Are Doritos Dinamita Halal?

Fortunately, Doritos Dinamita does not contain any pig derivatives, and this has been confirmed by the company itself. Frito-Lay has stated that the enzymes used in the product are not derived from pigs, but the company has not disclosed the exact source. However, it is likely that the enzymes are derived from either a vegetable or microbial source, both of which are considered halal.

Furthermore, the facility where the product is made does not handle wine or alcohol ingredients, which makes the product almost halal, but it is not certified.

Final Thought

Doritos Dinamita doesn’t have pig derivatives and likely uses halal enzymes from vegetable or microbial sources. The facility doesn’t handle wine/alcohol ingredients, making it almost halal but not certified.

Related Posts

DISCLAIMER: SoundVegan, Inc. disclaims all liability and does not advocate the use or abuse of any goods, products, or medications. Although we make every effort to ensure the authenticity of our material, we cannot make any promises. We work hard to give you helpful information so you may choose the best course of action for your lifestyle and health.