Are Chewy Lemonheads Vegan? Fully Explained!

Are Chewy Lemonheads Vegan? I get quite often this question since Chewy Lemonheads are one of the popular brands of candy that consists of a sweet coating, soft sour shell, and a hard candy core.

The Chewy Lemonheads come in different varieties which are Popular varieties Grapeheads, Cherryheads and Appleheads. Each variety is known by its different Flavor of taste

In this article, I will try to give Chewy Lemonheads a full explanation, that will helps you to determine whether this candy is vegan or not.

So, Let’s Start by listing the ingredients.

Chewy Lemonheads Ingredients

According to their website Chewy Lemonheads Hard Candy is made of the following ingredients:

  • Sugar
  • Corn Syrup
  • Modified Food Starch (Corn)
  • Lemon Juice from Concentrate Fumaric Acid
  • Malic Acid
  • Natural and Artificial Flavors
  • Confectioner’s Glaze (Shellac)
  • Citric Acid
  • Sodium Lactate
  • Sodium Citrate
  • Titanium Dioxide [Color]
  • Red 40
  • Yellow 6
  • Yellow 5
  • Carnauba Wax
  • White Mineral Oil
  • Blue 1
  • Blue 2

Are Chewy Lemonheads Vegan? Explained

Are Chewy Lemonheads Vegan? The answer is NO. Chewy Lemonheads are not Vegan since they contain a food additive derives from a substance known as “sticklac” which is Confectioner’s Glaze (Shellac) secreted by female lac bugs.

As known vegans cannot consume any derived animal ingredients which makes Chewy Lemonheads unsuitable for vegans.

Are Chewy Lemonheads Halal?

The answer is NO, Chewy Lemonheads are not certified halal since they contain some questionable ingredients that may contain haram by-products which are Natural and Artificial Flavors since it might be extracted from the meat. The company keeps hiding from who they extracted some ingredients.

Since the company doesn’t certify Chewy Lemonheads Halal so, SoundVegan considers it unsuitable for Muslims or for a halal diet.

Are Chewy Lemonheads Gluten Free?

Chewy Lemonheads are accidentally gluten-free since don’t contain any type of gluten, also made in a gluten-free facility. which makes it suitable & safe for persons allergic to gluten. Therefore, all other flavors and varieties of Lemonheads are gluten-free.

Are Chewy Lemonheads Vegetarian?

Chewy Lemonheads Contain ingredients that may come from meat or plants, if you’re a strict vegan Chewy Lemonheads are not vegetarian since containing questionable ingredients that might be derived from meat.

Summary

Indeed, Chewy Lemonheads are not vegan, not vegetarian, not Halal, and accidentally Gluten-free.


Sources


Related Posts


DISCLAIMER: SoundVegan, Inc. disclaims all liability and does not advocate the use or abuse of any goods, products, or medications. Although we make every effort to assure the authenticity of our material, we cannot make any promises. We work hard to give you helpful information so you may choose the best course of action for your lifestyle and health.